The Gift of Pooh

pooh

 

 

“I’m not throwing it, I’m dropping it Eeyore.”

 

I couldn’t be more excited.  BibliOdyssey has posted a series of prints by Ernest Howard Shepard, the illustrator of A.A. Milne’s series of books telling the stories of Winnie the Pooh, his human friend, Christopher Robin, and Eeyore, Piglet, Owl, Kanga, Roo, Tigger and others.  The House at Pooh Corner is the first book I remember having read to me and the first book I read by myself.  I loved the witty and often droll humour and Pooh’s silly songs.   I lived many pleasant years in the land of Pooh.

 

The illustrations bring that whole world back to me in an instant, along with the tactile memory of holding the book, with its soft, pink cover in my hands, how it smelled (and still does).  I believed that world existed.  Because it did, of course.

 

I own a very early version of  The House at Pooh Corner, given to me by the uncle who first read it to me.  It was his when he was a boy, seventy-odd years ago and is one of the few things that I would choose to keep if I could only take six things I own to a new land.

 

There are some great links at this post too.  Have a look … dive into the gift!

 

Thanks a million to BibliO

 

One thought on “The Gift of Pooh

  1. I loved Tales from Jabba’s Palace. It’s so great to see I’m not the only one. It was great to see how you came up with your idea for this story.

Leave a Reply

