Big Fat Sigh

Step by step, inch by inch, Barack Obama is going to fulfill all my “nay-saying”, “pessimistic” prophesies about the way he will govern the US.  I’ve suddenly begun to wonder how I’m going to arrange my psychic survival as all my worst dreams come true.  Perhaps I should direct my energies elsewhere?  Thinkin’ about it.

Meantime, from TalkLeft:

During the presidential campaign, Barack Obama said he would close Guantanamo during his first 100 days in office. This morning, on ABC‘s This Week with Stephanopoulos, he backtracked:

“It is more difficult than I think a lot of people realize,” the President-elect explained. “Part of the challenge that you have is that you have a bunch of folks that have been detained, many of whom who may be very dangerous who have not been put on trial or have not gone through some adjudication. And some of the evidence against them may be tainted even though it’s true.

And so how to balance creating a process that adheres to rule of law, habeas corpus, basic principles of Anglo American legal system, by doing it in a way that doesn’t result in releasing people who are intent on blowing us up.”

Let me get this straight.  We know “these people” are “intent on blowing us up”, even though the evidence of that has been gained by means of torture.  Gee, I thought the nature of the intelligence gained when a detainee has been tortured was at least one of the basic problems with the whole issue of torture.

More and more, I will be hopping up and down on one foot while turning blue from lack of oxygen in the next months as I watch Obama “backtrack” and am forced to witness the Village defend him.  Should I take up yoga?  Big.  Fat.  Sigh.  In child’s position.

And read the whole thing here

Leave a Reply

