Toronto Without Power

20090115dzgnboy

Intersection of Dufferin and St. Clair in Toronto at 10 p.m. Thursday night –

after a flood blew out the Dufferin St. tranformer station –

leaving 100,00 people without power –

in bitterly cold temperatures

Power has been returned to about three-quarters of those customers – leaving lots of people shivering tonight if they haven’t found alternate accomodations.  I hope everybody’s ok.

Power outages in the winter bring back one of my favourite childhood memories.  I lived in a small community on Scarborough Bluffs.  Winter storms often left us cut off from the rest of the world because cars couldn’t get up the hill on the road that offered the only access and egress.  When the power went out too, my parents would light up the fire in the living room fireplace and we lived in front of it for the duration.

Evenings were like camping out at home and indoors.  They would heat water over the fire to make hot chocolate, tell stories and then zip my younger brother and me into one sleeping bag.  We slept warm and toasty in front of the fire, listening to my parents chat away until they fell asleep on the floor beside us.  I was always disappointed when the power went back on.

We were safe, of course, so that made it easier to enjoy the winter black-outs.  Still, I think it reminded us of what we had lost by way of intimacy with the introduction of “power”.

3 thoughts on “Toronto Without Power

  1. Oh no! I worry so much about people who are in the cold during this extreme weather. I do hope they have somewhere to go. I worry about the sick and elderly.

    But I love your childhood memories. Mine were around hurricane lanterns…ha! I love your last sentence. It “reminded us of what we had lost by way of intimacy with the introduction of power.” So true.

    Keep up the good work, Sistah! I’m still around in bits and pieces. Physically and mentally…lol. But still back and forth and enjoying your blog as much as always when I’m back on the net. Much Love!

  2. Hi Sistah darlin’. Yes, I know what you mean about worry for the sick and elderly. If it helps to reduce your worry, there are shelters open for people who have nowhere else to go and the mayor has asked people to check on their neighbours. Still, people can fall through the cracks and I, too, hope everyone’s ok.

    I always love to see you sister and I like the idea of hurricane lanterns – hurricanes, not so much.

    You take care out there!

    Much love coming back at ya.

Leave a Reply

