It’s a Mad Mad World

I haven’t been posting much lately.  I’m thinking.  The world is spinning inside my head.  I’m thinking Chris Hedges is right:

A culture that cannot distinguish between reality and illusion dies. And we are dying now. We will either wake from our state of induced childishness, one where trivia and gossip pass for news and information, one where our goal is not justice but an elusive and unattainable happiness, to confront the stark limitations before us, or we will continue our headlong retreat into fantasy.   [more]

I haven’t retreated into fantasy but I’m less and less sure of how to talk about illusions of reality.  I’m thinking.

And then there’s this.

6 thoughts on “It’s a Mad Mad World

  1. No, it doesn’t die, it changes into something else. (Please read COCAINE NIGHTS or SUPER-CANNES by JG Ballard!)

    And I just ranted over on Kittywampus’s blog, about all this sorta thing. I think this IS a political situation, the withdrawal from formal “news” reality–into a sort of symbolic existence, where scandals are the new national touchstones.

    The scandals tell us who we really are.

  2. I’m not sure I know what you’re saying Daisy. Or at least, I’m not sure Chris Hedges is saying something different. I too think that the current explosion of mass psychosis “tell[s] us who we really are”. I also think cultures do die though, of course, they are replaced. I think we’re dying.

  3. Thanks. I’m trying to recover myself and thinking about what I really want to post about. I used to point out a lot of links and not much more. I want to write my own stuff. But not sure what or why or if here. Do you have a Facebook account? There’s a really good community there and I post a lot of links. It’s good because people actually talk to each other. You were one of my few commenters here. I enjoyed your comments but wanted more. Greedy, lol. E-mail me if you are on FB and I’ll find you.

  4. Yes I have a Facebook account. Just search for Kristen Hovet. 🙂 My blog, Vesper in Limbo, also has a page…new as of two days ago. See you there!

  5. P.S. If I point out links, I usually use Twitter. I use my blog to be more in depth, and lately it’s more of my own creative musings…less movie reviews, etc.

Leave a Reply

