Sorrow in the House of Democrat

Melissa McEwan on Obama’s disappointing choice of running mate:

For months and months I have read rejections of Clinton because she supported the war, but I suspect that those making the argument will not now reject Obama because he put one of its cheerleaders on his ticket. For months and months I have read rejections of Clinton because she and/or her husband are racist, but I suspect those those making the argument will not now reject Obama because he put a man who says things like this or this or this or this, all within the last two years, on his ticket. For months and months I have read exhortations that I must vote for Obama because he will protect reproductive rights in a way McCain won’t, but I suspect those who have beat me with that cudgel will not now reject Obama because he put on his ticket a man who does not support federal funding for abortion and supported the “partial-birth abortion” ban even without protections for the health/life of the mother.

And what of those who have chanted Obama’s 100% NARAL rating like a mantra? Will they reject him now that he has asked to join his ticket a man with a 36% NARAL rating in 2003 and a 75% rating in 2007? Or will they come at last to their stubborn insistence that he’s still better than McCain, even though that’s not the debate…?

I’ve never been a member of the Democratic Party; I’ve never been a partisan. But I have always voted for Democrats, and I always felt marginally in tune with the party. Now, I feel completely distant, completely detached. This, I fear, will only deepen that divide.

At some point, I’m going to be incredibly angry about that. But at the moment, I’m not even angry. Not yet, anyway.

In this moment, I just feel incredibly sad. 

Leave a Reply

